25 Things About Me

Here are 25 random things about me, my family, my homestead and my blog…

My husband’s name is Kevin.  I love him.  We’re married for six years.  He has rescued me in many many ways.

Even though I call myself a Jersey girl, I was actually born in Staten Island.  Staten Island is part of New York City, in case you didn’t realize that.

I have a degree in Biological Sciences from Rutgers University. Rutgers is New Jersey’s state university and a so-called leader in academic research.  I graduated by the skin of my teeth, even taking six times to pass first semester Organic Chemistry.

I worked my way through school in retail.  When I graduated, I stayed working in retail.

I’ve had some crazy “Joe-Jobs”.  I delivered newspapers, worked in a pharmacy and a bagel store, worked as a card lady, graded essays and long math problems on standardized tests, substitute taught, overnight cashiered at Foodtown, worked at the mall spraying “smelly stuff” on people, cashiered at K-mart, cashiered and worked as a janitor in a truck stop, stocked hats and sunglasses as an independent contractor, worked for the US Census and even worked at Arby’s and Babies R Us for a day each.   My job grading tests was the only job I ever had that required a degree.

I had a house built in the Poconos. I hate my house now and a lot of times wish that I didn’t leave Pennsylvania.

I have an unhealthy obsession with the Monkees and have since I was a little girl.  I pray for Davy Jones’s soul to rest in peace.

I have an unhealthy obsession with the Little House books.  Reading These Happy Golden Years made me sort of fall in love with Almanzo.

I hate driving a minivan.  I realize it is an inevitable part of having five kids.

I hate Colorado.  I love homesteading, fresh air and the low cost of living more than I hate Colorado.  I guess I’m here to stay since this is the only place my kids can farm on some of the same land their ancestors farmed.  No place is Eden.  I realize that if we packed up and moved some other place, we’d be just trading in one set of problems for another.  Thank you, Adam.

I don’t get out much.  I can’t remember the last time I went out that wasn’t for church or a doctor’s appointment.

I’m unabashedly Catholic.  I believe the Catholic Church to be the only church that teaches 100% true teachings.  If you disagree with me, I’d like to be friends anyway.  If we happen to disagree on something, we can disagree and I will still love you as a person and friend.

In spite of being Catholic, I mess up all the time.  If you’ve known me a long time, you know my past sins.  If you know me now, you know I still mess up even though I’m smart enough to know better.  I go to Confession a lot.  I am trying to get to The Right Place, in spite of all my faults and screw ups.

I love the Latin Mass. I think that’s because I have spiritual ADD and the Latin Mass doesn’t have the constant parade of random people in the sanctuary that Novus Ordo Mass does.  It’s also not just the actual Mass.  I just find I fit in more with the culture surrounding the Latin Mass than the culture surrounding Novus Ordo.  I travel 90 miles each way to Latin Mass.

In retrospect, I find it ironic that I took three years of Latin in Catholic High School and I never went to a Latin Mass until I was in my twenties.

I have five children.  They have been a pattern of boy-girl-boy-girl-boy.  I always said I wanted to be every other like that, like the Brady Bunch.  I don’t have Alice’s help.

I have always wanted a big family, yet feared infertility.  I have been blessed by many many babies quickly.  And gasp! I hope to have more children.

I never thought about certain logistics of a big family, like driving a minivan or my 15 passenger van.

My children are always buckled in their car seats even though I hate car seats.  That being said, I know how to fit three car seats across small back seats.  I wish car manufacturers would make more LATCH systems in their vehicles or even flip down car seats like they used to.

I have figured out how to make my double stroller work for five children.

I live 67 miles from the closest Wal-mart, and that’s going through the dirt roads.

I am not physically capable of solely producing enough milk to nourish a baby.  This has broken my heart. Every. time.

I’m a hippie at heart.  I think that’s partially because in my formative years, I never realized there was a difference between Peter Seeger and Folk Mass.

I have a llama.

I want to drive my 15 passenger van down Flatbush Avenue just to see if people will flag me down thinking it’s a Dollar Van.

 


by with no comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *